About Us

The Center for Autism Education is a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization founded in 2002. Our founder, Amy Buie, was determined to open an agency that would allow individuals to reach their fullest potential in all areas of life, regardless of ability. When we first opened our doors, in a strip mall in O'Fallon, we were serving 10 students. Now, more than twenty years later, we have multiple locations and we’ve served more than 350 individuals and their families.

The Center for Autism Education has become a staple in the special needs community. We pride ourselves on providing the best possible quality of care to our students and adult consumers with autism and other special needs. What sets us apart from other programs in the community is that we do not discriminate based on behavior. Our certified staff and therapists are trained to deal with intense behaviors including aggression, self-injurious behavior, and property destruction. Our staff members work tirelessly to reduce the occurrence of unwanted behavior and teach replacement behaviors and coping skills so that our consumers can be successful in their school/program environment as well as at home and in the community.

We can't do any of this without your help.

Consider donating today, every little bit helps. THANK YOU!

Our Mission, Vision, and Values

The mission of The Center for Autism Education is to accommodate the needs of everyone we serve in a respectful, supportive, and safe environment.


Everyone deserves to be treated with respect and have an exceptional quality of life.


Everyone deserves the opportunity to actively participate in their community.


Everyone deserves personalized behavior support to improve functional, vocational, & academic skills.

Meet Our Team


Angie New

Ellen Adamo

Hanne Hawkins

Gerald Ledford Jr.

Andrew Peck

Stefanie Treadway

Erin Ransom

Sherry Valdespino


Laura Berkowitz

Sarah Griffard

Vanessa Mann

Patti Hamill

Jamie Zimmerman

Megan Rampani

Elysia Schlag

Amy Sigmund


Joe Ilardi

Taylor Burkemper

Abby Labeda

Ericka Vance

Support Services Leadership

Lee LaPointe

Jenna Rincand

Allison Shepard

Board of Directors


Vice President


Carrie Kremer